Skip to main content
Five Years In, Salt City Market: Who’s Still There, Who’s Gone, Who’s Growing
CNY Signal

Five Years In, Salt City Market: Who’s Still There, Who’s Gone, Who’s Growing

11 min read
In this story

    AI assisted, human edited local reporting. How this story was produced · Corrections

    In this story

      By Sarah Chen, Staff Reporter

      When the Allyn Family Foundation cut the ribbon on Salt City Market in January 2021, the food hall opened with 10 immigrant-owned and minority-owned vendors and a public bet: that incubated entrepreneurship could anchor downtown Syracuse’s recovery. Five years later, the data is in.

      Six of the original 10 vendors are still operating at 484 South Salina Street. Three have closed. One retired. Three of the survivors have opened standalone restaurants while keeping their market stalls running. The 26 mixed-income apartments above the food hall are fully leased through February 2026, with a waitlist of more than 500 names. Annual foot traffic averages above 350,000.

      This story came from public records we pulled ourselves

      Get the next one, plus overnight incidents, in your inbox at 6 AM. Free, no spam.

      The newest expansion ribbon was cut three months ago. Erma’s Bistro, the full-service spinoff from Erma’s Island, opened on January 6 at 325 South Clinton Street in Armory Square, anchoring a Salt City graduation pattern that now includes Cake Bar’s second location on West Genesee Street and Baghdad Restaurant’s Eastwood site.

      The Bet

      The Allyn Family Foundation, funded by the 2015 sale of Welch Allyn Inc. to Hill-Rom Holdings, committed approximately $25 million to the project. JPMorgan Chase added a $5.3 million New Markets Tax Credit investment. The Rose Urban Green Fund participated as a partner. Six apartment units received HUD HOME funding to lock in long-term affordability.

      The foundation created a separate nonprofit operating entity, Syracuse Urban Partnership, known as SYRUP, to run the building. Maarten Jacobs, who serves as Director of Community Prosperity at the Allyn Family Foundation, became SYRUP’s executive director in 2019.

      Advertisement

      The 78,000-square-foot development sits at the meeting point of three Syracuse neighborhoods on a parcel that had been vacant for years. The food hall floor measures roughly 24,000 square feet. Above it sit four stories built in 2021, with not-for-profit office space on lower floors and 26 apartments stacked on the top two.

      Who Came In

      The opening lineup, selected from a competitive vendor application process, included Baghdad Restaurant (Iraqi), Mamma Hai (Vietnamese), Cake Bar (Vietnamese desserts and bubble tea), Erma’s Island (Jamaican), Soulutions (American soul and southern), Big in Burma (Burmese), Firecracker Thai Kitchen (Thai), Pie’s the Limit (sweet and savory pies), Miss Prissy’s (soul food), and Farm Girl Juicery (cold-pressed juice). Salt City Coffee and Salt City Bar opened alongside as house-operated concessions.

      Adam Sudmann, who had run the My Lucky Tummy traveling popup series in Syracuse since 2012 and the With Love incubator restaurant at Onondaga Community College since 2016, took the role of opening Market Manager. The current leadership team, listed on Salt City Market’s site, includes Lauren Davis as Director of Operations, CJ Butler as Marketing and Communications Manager, and Nicole Whyte as Market Coordinator.

      The opening day model, branded as Up Start, paired each selected vendor with one-on-one technical assistance, a small-business curriculum, equipment, and a built-in commercial kitchen so first-time owners did not have to put up six-figure capital before serving a single plate. The Allyn Foundation paid for the build-out and absorbed the rent risk. CenterState CEO partnered on small-business development. The selection panel, drawn from local chefs and entrepreneurs, ran a multi-round process in 2019 and 2020 that included tasting events at the OCC With Love kitchen and a community-vote leg to round out the field.

      The press around opening day, January 29, 2021, leaned heavily on the timing. The food hall was the first major new public-facing project to come online inside Onondaga County after the first-wave shutdowns of 2020. The New York Times covered the launch under the headline questioning whether a pandemic was the right time to start a business. The vendor cohort, which included multiple first-generation immigrants and several first-time owners, walked into a downtown that still had office towers running at a fraction of pre-2020 capacity.

      Who Left, Who Graduated

      The first closures came in 2022. Pie’s the Limit graduated to a stall at the Central New York Regional Market in late August of that year, an exit that the market itself framed as a step up rather than a flameout. Owner Robin Eichas later sold pies through the Syracuse Cooperative Market locations and through The Broom Closet cafe.

      Miss Prissy’s, run by Dreamer Glen, closed her market stand in 2023, with a standalone restaurant publicly planned but not yet open. Big in Burma closed in April after the owners retired. Firecracker Thai Kitchen and Farm Girl Juicery have also closed.

      The graduation column tells a different story. Cake Bar, owned by Vietnamese immigrant Duyen Nguyen, opened a second location at 252 West Genesee Street in August 2022, 18 months after the food hall opened. The second site grew the business to roughly 30 employees. Baghdad Restaurant expanded to a separate location while keeping the market stall live. Erma’s Island, founded by Latoya Roberts, opened Erma’s Bistro at 325 South Clinton Street in January 2026, the first full-service offshoot to launch since the five-year mark.

      Four new vendors moved into vacated stalls in 2024: SINBUN (sweet and savory buns), ElleRae’s Tacos (Cali-Mex), Habiba’s Ethiopian Kitchen, and Masala Heaven (Indian). The current vendor roster sits at 12 tenants, including the house bar, coffee, and the Syracuse Cooperative Market grocery store on the ground floor.

      The replacement pace tells its own story. The hall did not run a stall dark for more than one season at a time. By the time Big in Burma’s owners decided to retire, the management team had a queue of next-up applicants ready to interview. SYRUP staff describe the pipeline as continuous, and the Up Start curriculum keeps running between cohorts. The market did not have to retreat to a half-full floor plan to absorb the early closures.

      The closure cluster also followed an industry pattern that has nothing to do with downtown Syracuse. Cold-pressed juice, the Farm Girl Juicery category, contracted nationally as a standalone retail format between 2022 and 2024. Single-cuisine fast-casual operators with high labor cost and low average ticket, which fits the Firecracker Thai profile, have struggled in food halls from Pittsburgh to Boston. Big in Burma’s exit was a retirement, not a failure. Pie’s the Limit took an upgrade to a larger footprint at the Regional Market.

      The Apartments: The Quiet Win

      The 26 apartments above the food hall were the part of the project least covered at opening and arguably the part that worked best. The unit mix was set at 25 percent low-income (under 60 percent area median income), 50 percent workforce (60 to 120 percent AMI), and 25 percent market rate. Six of the 26 received HUD HOME funding to keep rents capped.

      Rents on the affordable tier start at roughly $823 for a one-bedroom. Market-rate units range up to $1,900 depending on size and floor. Every unit is leased through February 2026. The waitlist has run above 500 names for most of the past three years, according to Salt City Market’s published apartment data.

      The next housing piece is already under construction. SEED Syracuse, the Allyn Foundation affiliate that bought the 12-story Chimes Building at 500 South Salina Street for $8.2 million in July 2023, is converting it into roughly 152 mixed-income apartments at a renovation cost of $35 million to $40 million. About two-thirds of the Chimes units will be priced below market. First leasing was targeted for March 2026.

      The Data

      Salt City Market reports it has incubated 15 small businesses since opening, employed more than 100 people across vendors and operations, and averaged more than 350,000 visitors a year. Most vendors employ five to 10 staff. The market itself directly employs 28 people and runs an Ambassador workforce-development program with the Rescue Mission for people who have experienced homelessness.

      The job-creation target written into the original financing package was 30 jobs for community members. Salt City Market reports it has surpassed that figure.

      The grocery story is less covered but material. Syracuse Cooperative Market’s downtown branch, supported by a New York Health Foundation grant, opened in April 2021 and remains the only full-service grocery store inside the city’s downtown footprint.

      Salt City Market also runs a calendar of live events: concerts, cooking classes, art classes, and seasonal programming aimed at filling the floor outside the lunch and dinner peaks. The Ambassador program, run with the Rescue Mission, has placed people who have experienced homelessness into hospitality jobs at the market. The market itself sits inside walking distance of Syracuse University’s Warehouse building on West Fayette Street, the SU Hotel, the OnCenter, and the new Micron-driven downtown office traffic, which has shifted weekday lunch volume upward over the past 18 months.

      Vendor revenue figures are not publicly disclosed by SYRUP. The market reports that several owners have hit milestones such as buying a home or a vehicle out of food-hall earnings, and that two original owners have crossed the line into multi-location operators. Cake Bar reports a 30-person headcount across both locations. Erma’s Bistro is in its third month of operation and has not yet published staffing or revenue figures.

      The Next Five Years

      The bet has shifted. Salt City Market was originally framed as a single-building experiment in food-hall incubation. It has become the anchor of a five-block redevelopment band along South Salina Street, with the Chimes Building filling out the housing supply, the SEED Syracuse 500 South Salina Developers-in-Residence program filling out the retail mix, and the Allyn Foundation’s Blueprint 15 partnership working a separate $1 billion neighborhood-scale plan near the I-81 community grid project.

      The five-year scorecard at 484 South Salina Street is mixed and honest. Three vendors closed. One retired. One graduated to the regional market. Three are running second locations. Six are still serving lunch and dinner six days a week. The apartments are full. The waitlist is long. The grocery store is open.

      Whether year ten looks like year five depends less on the food hall now than on whether the buildings around it fill up the way the apartments did.

      Salt City Market Vendor Scorecard, January 2021 to April 2026

      Original 10 Salt City Market vendors and their status five years later
      Original 10 Vendors: 5-Year Status
      Salt City Market, Syracuse, NY. Opened January 29, 2021.

      VENDOR
      CUISINE
      STATUS APR 2026

      Baghdad RestaurantIraqiOpen + 2nd location
      Mamma HaiVietnameseOpen
      Cake BarVietnamese dessertsOpen + 2nd location (2022)
      Erma’s IslandJamaicanOpen + Erma’s Bistro (2026)
      SoulutionsSoul / Southern BBQOpen
      Big in BurmaBurmeseClosed (owners retired)
      Firecracker Thai KitchenThaiClosed
      Farm Girl JuiceryCold-pressed juiceClosed
      Pie’s the LimitSweet/savory piesGraduated to Regional Market (2022)
      Miss Prissy’sSoul foodClosed stall (2023)

      Source: Salt City Market vendor list, Allyn Family Foundation, This Is CNY (Jan 2026), Spectrum Local News, CNY Business Journal.
      Color key: green = operating; orange = graduated or amicable exit; red = closed.

      Six of 10 original vendors still operating at 484 S. Salina St. Three opened second locations.

      Vendor Turnover Timeline

      Salt City Market vendor count and key transitions, 2021 to 2026
      Vendor Activity, 2021 to 2026
      Active stalls and key exits/graduations by year.

      0
      5
      10
      15

      10
      2021

      10
      2022

      9
      2023

      12
      2024

      12
      2025

      12
      2026

      Key events: 2022 Pie’s the Limit graduates and Cake Bar opens 2nd location. 2023 Miss Prissy’s stall closes.
      2024 four new vendors fill stalls. 2026 Erma’s Bistro opens at 325 S Clinton St. Source: Salt City Market.

      Stall count dipped to 9 in 2023 before four 2024 additions brought the hall to 12 active vendors.

      Apartments and Retail: Occupancy Above the Food Hall

      Salt City Market apartment unit mix and occupancy data
      26 Apartments: The Quiet Win
      Mixed-income housing on the upper two floors. All units leased through Feb 2026.

      100%
      Leased
      All 26 units, through
      February 2026
      500+
      on the waitlist

      UNIT MIX BY INCOME

      25% low income (under 60% AMI)
      50% workforce (60 to 120% AMI)
      25% market rate
      6 of 26 units backed by
      HUD HOME funding

      RENT RANGE
      $823
      low end, 1BR affordable
      $1,900
      high end, market rate
      1BR and 2BR units

      Source: Salt City Market apartments page; Apartments.com listing data; Rose Urban Green Fund closing brief.
      Building: 4 stories, built 2021. Apartments occupy upper two floors above the food hall.

      All 26 apartments leased through February 2026, with a waitlist that has stayed above 500 names.

      Investment Stack and Five-Year Outcomes

      Capital invested in Salt City Market and outcomes after five years
      $25M In, 5 Years Out
      Project capital and the year-five scorecard.

      CAPITAL STACK

      Allyn Family Foundation ~$25M
      JPMC NMTC $5.3M
      HUD/Rose

      5-YEAR OUTCOMES

      15
      small businesses
      incubated to date

      100+
      people employed
      across vendors and ops

      350K+
      visitors per year
      average reported by SYRUP

      3 of 10
      original vendors with 2nd locations
      Cake Bar, Baghdad, Erma’s Island

      $8.2M + $35-40M
      Chimes Building purchase + rehab
      152 mixed-income units coming online

      Sources: Allyn Family Foundation; JPMorgan Chase community development; Spectrum Local News; This Is CNY.
      Note: Vendor revenue figures are not publicly disclosed by SYRUP.

      Year-five aggregates self-reported by Salt City Market and verified against published partner sources.

      Hero photo: Salt City Market exterior at 484 S. Salina St., April 2022. Photo by Andre Carrotflower, licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0.
      Inline photo: Salt City Market food hall interior, June 2021. Photo by Andre Carrotflower, licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0.

      {
      “@context”:”https://schema.org”,
      “@graph”:[
      {“@type”:”Article”,”headline”:”Five Years In, Salt City Market: Who’s Still There, Who’s Gone, Who’s Growing”,”author”:{“@type”:”Person”,”name”:”Sarah Chen”},”publisher”:{“@type”:”Organization”,”name”:”CNY Signal”,”url”:”https://cnysignal.com”},”datePublished”:”2026-04-27″,”articleSection”:”Business”,”about”:{“@type”:”LocalBusiness”,”name”:”Salt City Market”}},
      {“@type”:”LocalBusiness”,”name”:”Salt City Market”,”address”:{“@type”:”PostalAddress”,”streetAddress”:”484 S Salina St”,”addressLocality”:”Syracuse”,”addressRegion”:”NY”,”postalCode”:”13202″,”addressCountry”:”US”},”openingHours”:”Mo-Sa 11:00-21:00, Su 11:00-17:00″,”url”:”https://saltcitymarket.com/”,”telephone”:”+1-315-552-1100″},
      {“@type”:”FAQPage”,”mainEntity”:[
      {“@type”:”Question”,”name”:”How many of the original 10 Salt City Market vendors are still open?”,”acceptedAnswer”:{“@type”:”Answer”,”text”:”Six of the 10 original vendors are still operating at 484 S. Salina St. as of April 2026: Baghdad, Mamma Hai, Cake Bar, Erma’s Island, Soulutions, and Salt City Coffee/Bar.”}},
      {“@type”:”Question”,”name”:”How much did the Allyn Family Foundation invest in Salt City Market?”,”acceptedAnswer”:{“@type”:”Answer”,”text”:”The Allyn Family Foundation committed approximately $25 million. JPMorgan Chase added a $5.3 million New Markets Tax Credit investment, with additional support from the Rose Urban Green Fund and HUD HOME funds.”}},
      {“@type”:”Question”,”name”:”Are the Salt City Market apartments fully leased?”,”acceptedAnswer”:{“@type”:”Answer”,”text”:”Yes. All 26 apartments are leased through February 2026, with a waitlist of more than 500 names.”}},
      {“@type”:”Question”,”name”:”Which Salt City Market vendors have opened standalone restaurants?”,”acceptedAnswer”:{“@type”:”Answer”,”text”:”Cake Bar opened a second location at 252 W. Genesee St. in 2022. Baghdad Restaurant has expanded to a second site. Erma’s Island opened Erma’s Bistro at 325 S. Clinton St. in January 2026.”}}
      ]}
      ]
      }

      Know someone who should see this?

      Every share helps CNY stay informed. Post it to your neighborhood group, text it to a friend, or drop it on Reddit.

      M

      Business and Development Reporter

      Mike Rivera

      Covers business and development across Central New York, including Onondaga County Industrial Development Agency filings and Syracuse Regional Airport Authority activity.


      Last updated  · Corrections policy

      Advertisement
      Stay ahead of CNY Live incidents · Weather · Roads · Daily recaps